The Message

This collegium and forum are dedicated to the study, discussion, re-creation and application of classical Roman and Greek religion and philosophy.

Moderator: Aldus Marius

The Message

Postby Aulus Flavius on Tue Sep 11, 2007 12:30 am

Salve amici,

I've been recently engaged in a debate with a friend of mine online who happens to be an atheist. One of the topics he constantly refers to in arguing against the Abrahamic religions is their insistence of a universal message present in their religion that applies to all.

This got me wondering what message is there in the Religio Romana? For me it seemed to be the highest honour I could pay to Rome. The more I studied its history and people, the more I saw them as quintessentially responsible for the formation of the Western world. The more I studied their culture, art and literature, the more in love with Rome I fell.

That admiration and beauty transfered over to the Gods.

So all this has me wondering, what message does the Religio Romana have? For you, if not for everyone.

Vale,

A. Flavius
Aulus Flavius
II. Legionary
II. Legionary

Postby Q Valerius on Tue Sep 11, 2007 6:51 am

As another atheist, like most educated Romans, I logically do not think that the Gods exist. This, however, doesn't mean that I can not learn from the religio - pietas is perhaps the central message of the religio Romana, and this is not merely "piety", but all manners of virtue, including virtus (doing what a proper man should do), honestas, dignitas, gravitas, and of course the ever important frugalitas (which remained part of Roman mores well into the empire, despite it all).

Respect and duty perhaps might be the English words for the message Religionis Romanae.
Q Valerius
Eques
Eques

Postby Horatius Piscinus on Wed Sep 12, 2007 5:44 am

Salvete Valeri et Flavi